Thursday, 13 July 2017

Book Review: A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies (A Beautiful Dark #1)


Summary (from Goodreads)

Title: A Fractured Light

Author: Jocelyn Davies

Publication Date: 25 September 2012

Publisher: HarperTeen







Summary:



When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.
Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.
A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga.


My Thoughts:


Yoohoo! My expectations were met! Okay, 'expectations" and "met" are a bit of incorrect words to use, because in essence we just got into a bigger than possible mess at the end of this book. Oh, sorry, I was too excited that's why all the nonsense. First of all, if you are new to Jocelyn Davies' A Beautiful Dark series, I recommend you to check it out, the review of the first book in on my blog. *smiles. But if you are coming back from reading the book, well, hi there! and did you like it?

Now, let me just refresh our memory, sorry for the newcomers a major spoil alert! At the end of the first book sky, that's our main character is stabbed by Devin who essentially should be from the good side, that is called Order, but then again he is following orders, therefore the good is something difficult to decipher. However, our third part of the so-called love triangle doesn;t disappoint, as Asher who should be from Chaos side aka Rebellion, whisks her away to save her life.

So, now you are totally hating on Devin and somehow became pro-Asher, am I correct? Well, for me I guess I mentioned it in the previous review, but I'm team Devin and he didn't disappoint at all, though he should have chosen team Skye rather than team Asher. oh, sorry for this spoiler, Devin does turn "bad", but it sure suits him if we think about it. Don't forget our protagonist, Skye, as she'll have a huge pile of information to precess and unravel a number of secrets! And you might not like a lot of them!

Enjoy a great sequel and I'm off to read the final book! Don't forget to share your thoughts below! Stay tuned for more reviews as well as promos. Don't miss your next favourite book or manga! Happy reading!

XOXO

Katie



My Rating: